Mister Nobody

1399110955_a943f08724_b

I met him several years ago
while seated ta adjacent tables
in Sapporo’s pedestrian underground.
I was reading a book, and he was
sleeping with his head resting on
a big black bag.

Waking, he looked up, and we smiled.
Then getting up, he walked away.
I used to see him on the pedestrian
underground walkway, his head
resting on his big black bag.

It’s been several years since I last
saw him, and I’ve wondered where
he’d gone. Then, one late morning
while waiting for my bus, I glanced
over at a row of seats and saw him,
his black bag in the next seat.

When I cleared my throat, he looked
up, shocked. Jumping to his feet, he
took his bag, and fled. I’ve not seen
seen him since. Who are you, and
where have you gone? The question,
unanswered, haunts me.

About gwpj

Originally from Seattle, I now live in Sapporo, Japan, where I write, explore this city, read widely, and ask questions about things that i see as important. I'm also an author, with three novels published ("The Old Man and The Monkey", "Grandfather and The Raven", and "Bear: a story about a boy and his unusual dog"). For more information about my writing, drop by my website, at www.geogepolleyauthor.com.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment