Family

What is a family?
Is it made up of people related
by blood, or does it include friends?

My family includes both — a
hodgepodge of people, a cousin
here, my brother and his wife,
a nephew and a niece, a man

who once was a stranger, but now
is my best friend back home; a
black man now gone, when such friends
were rare, and all ages

from young people to elderly ones, and
a man from India whom I’ve not met
in person, but whose music I listen to
and sense him near.

Also included are my children; three sons
and a daughter and ten grandchildren, plus
two great-granddaughters whom I’ve not seen.
As I’ve said, it’s a hodgepodge of people,

and I like it this way. My family is full of
surprises, stories, and never a dull moment.
Laughter, frustration, sometimes tears,
and celebrations, too.

If your family is just the two of you,
celebrate each other and know how
lucky you are to have found your partner.

If arguments occur, as they do, take a break,
listen, then talk it out. Do not fight, as that
only makes matters worse, and sometimes
lands one of you in trouble that you do not want.

The losses from fights are sometimes great,
and the problem isn’t solved. You’re both
worth more than that. Before you take
any action, give it careful thought.
Remember the good times, and
try to rebuild them

About gwpj

Originally from Seattle, I now live in Sapporo, Japan, where I write, explore this city, read widely, and ask questions about things that i see as important. I'm also an author, with three novels published ("The Old Man and The Monkey", "Grandfather and The Raven", and "Bear: a story about a boy and his unusual dog"). For more information about my writing, drop by my website, at www.geogepolleyauthor.com.
This entry was posted in family, poem, Poetry, Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

