There comes a time . . .

This present moment
that lives on
to become

long ago
— Gary Snider, poet

9928_1130934832660_5573695_n

 

Sitting at Tully’s with a
cup of coffee. Music is
playing in the background.

At the next table, a young woman
studies, her laptop open. A stack
of papers sit in front of her. Two

cups of coffee, empty, are
pushed aside. I check my watch.
It is time to go.

~ ~ ~

At that moment, I knew it was time for me to hang it up, to retire from
writing. For months I’ve avoided looking at this. Interesting that it took two empty cups of coffee to show me what I’ve been avoiding for months. That said, at the end of 2016, I will deactivate this blog. From now it is time to spend quality time with my wife.

I thank each of you who have been following my “What I Write” blog. What will happen to my Mexico City novel, “The City Has Many Faces”?
It will still be published. I took care of that with the publisher. It’s been a great ride. All the best to each of you.

George

About gwpj

Originally from Seattle, I now live in Sapporo, Japan, where I write, explore this city, read widely, and ask questions about things that i see as important. I'm also an author, with three novels published ("The Old Man and The Monkey", "Grandfather and The Raven", and "Bear: a story about a boy and his unusual dog"). For more information about my writing, drop by my website, at www.geogepolleyauthor.com.
This entry was posted in George Polley, Retirement, Uncategorized, writing and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to There comes a time . . .

  1. robert okaji says:

    Say it isn’t so, George. But I understand the need to devote time to loved ones.

    • gwpj says:

      Thank you, Bob. The problem was that I had become a slave to my blog, which stifled my writing. I was no longer writing poetry because I love writing it, but writing it to fill up a space on my blog.Now I can write poetry because I enjoy it. I began writing poetry in early 1974 because my typewriter broke, and my handwriting is terrible (even I can’t read it). So . . . I began writing poetry, which is much shorter, and fell in love with it. I’ve kept it up ever sense. Back in the 1970s I had a lot of poetry published in poetry magazines and other small press magazines. Most recently, a poem I wrote about Palestinians was published in The Palestine Chronicle, which was a nice surprise. All the best to you, Bob, and do continue sending me your posts.

  2. John Holt says:

    George, my good friend, I wish you the very best as always

  3. I will miss your presence here. One day you mailed me and asked what I liked about one of your writings. I hope you received my response. E-mail can be dodgy.
    Allbest to you-

    • gwpj says:

      Thank you. Yes, E-mail can be dodgy; I didn’t receive the reply you sent. If you with, let me know what it was here, which avoids the e-mail problem. I am interested in what you have to say about my book.

      • Try adding my e-mail address to your contacts. Then it will keep. I managed to dig out my e-mail to you

        Dear George,

        Hi there- I was surprised to get your e-mail and I would be glad to answer your question.

        At first I just enjoyed it for its vivid descriptions. I’ve always loved trees, and I could picture it just as you described it, even better than the photograph. I take walks in the woods and I am drawn not just to the lush trees that are young and growing, but also the old ones. I probably give them more of a personality than they have but I do think about their stories and who was there before, climbing, leaning, carving, etc.

        Then I was pulled into the shaman’s story. He didn’t just tell about the hangings, but he called the tree ‘she’ which naturally stirs up feelings by giving it a humanity, and even more so as the stories progress later. Your poem is lovely also. I see it is part of a novel.

        I’ve heard so much bad lately about Mexico City, but you seem to have written about the beauty also.

        -Rose

  4. gwpj says:

    Thank you, Rose. What you saw in my book is what I hoped everyone would see, and that is the beauty that Mexico City was, and no doubt still is in many place. All the best to you.

Leave a Reply

