Madre / Mujer

The inspiration for this poem was larger than life-size bronze sculpture by Mexican/Costa Rican sculptor Francisco Zuñiga of an elderly Mexican peasant woman that I saw years ago in an art gallery a few blocks from my home in Minneapolis It is also a chapter in my novel “The City Has Many Faces, a love story about Mexico City,” which is available in Kindle and paperback from all amazon.com sites.

Madre/Mujer

Tall
bronze
solemn-faced
crater-naveled

she stares at the
mountains to the west
waiting for her children
to return.

She has born many sons
and daughters
lost them all to wars
disease and women
and now has only memories.

Tall
bronze
solemn-faced
crater-naveled
waiting

woman
pillar
tree.

About gwpj

Originally from Seattle, I now live in Sapporo, Japan, where I write, explore this city, read widely, and ask questions about things that i see as important. I'm also an author, with three novels published ("The Old Man and The Monkey", "Grandfather and The Raven", and "Bear: a story about a boy and his unusual dog"). For more information about my writing, drop by my website, at www.geogepolleyauthor.com.
This entry was posted in Mothers, poem and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Madre / Mujer

  1. robert okaji says:

    Though I was late getting to it, “The City Has Many Faces…” was one of my favorite reads of 2015. Entertaining, thoughtful, and poignant. A true pleasure!

    • gwpj says:

      Thank you, Bob, I’m delighted that you enjoyed it. I very much enjoyed telling the story about the city as seen through the eyes of the characters involved. Someone once asked me if any of the characters were favorites. My reply is “All of them are.

Leave a Reply

