Four short poems

Clear sky, sunny day

From a clear
blue sky,

snowflakes
fall.

 
Days and nights

The days move
swiftly by

while the nights move slowly
and are filled with dreams.

 

Snowbird

Today the old red macaw
is on his perch munching seeds
as the arctic wind whips past.

Does this out-of-place bird
Dream of steaming tropical
Forests?

 
Ungrammatical Spring Poem

Spring has sprung
The grass has riz
When I look around
The flowers is
Everywhere!

About gwpj

Originally from Seattle, I now live in Sapporo, Japan, where I write, explore this city, read widely, and ask questions about things that i see as important. I'm also an author, with three novels published ("The Old Man and The Monkey", "Grandfather and The Raven", and "Bear: a story about a boy and his unusual dog"). For more information about my writing, drop by my website, at www.geogepolleyauthor.com.
This entry was posted in George Polley, Poetry, short poems, Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Four short poems

  1. redgladiola says:

    All great, but I especially loved “Days and Nights,” and how slow you make night seem. The last poem was very fun too. Being “ungrammatical” really brings about a sense of shock at just what has suddenly grown. ❤

  2. gwpj says:

    Thank you redgladiola. I enjoy the freedom poetry gives me to play with words and grammar. My 6th Grade English teacher would read the ungrammatical spring poem and say “It doesn’t surprise me at all that after all these years, he still makes these glaring mistakes.” 🙂

Leave a Reply

