“Hi there, big boy!”

296107_268697259828667_198128860218841_886110_886457143_n

Her name is Esther. She is eighty-three, has no teeth, and is a burned-out schizophrenic. When I walked into the living room where she was sitting watching TV and called her name, she turned her head, looked up at me with the most brilliant, toothless smile I have ever seen, and said: “Hi there, big boy! Where’ve you been all my life?” It absolutely made my day!

About gwpj

Originally from Seattle, I now live in Sapporo, Japan, where I write, explore this city, read widely, and ask questions about things that i see as important. I'm also an author, with three novels published ("The Old Man and The Monkey", "Grandfather and The Raven", and "Bear: a story about a boy and his unusual dog"). For more information about my writing, drop by my website, at www.geogepolleyauthor.com.
This entry was posted in aging, Flash fiction, Humor and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to “Hi there, big boy!”

  1. Reading this just made MY day! Thank you!

Leave a Reply

