Short poems

Mikan

Start
at the side
opposite the stem

Open
and slowly peel

until
the flesh is
naked and waiting
to be devoured.

(note: A mikan is a small, easy to peel orange)

Ocean

The ocean
is magnificent

sun sparkling
on its calm surface.

Blues Don’t Stay

Who hung this ‘round my neck
when I wasn’t looking?
It’s gray and cold and damp
and makes my shoulders ache.

I’ll take it off,
I’ll pluck the sun from the sky,
put on a mantle of light
and dance       and dance     and dance
the blues away!

Short Bald Poem

Baldness comes out of

Nowhere.
It appears,

grinning, like a new moon.

Hair falls from it.

(note: Published in “Tower Talks”, Minneapolis, Minnesota, July 1978)

Starbucks Meditation

Around me
many voices,
chattering.
In the background,
someone sings
“Guantanamera.”

About gwpj

Originally from Seattle, I now live in Sapporo, Japan, where I write, explore this city, read widely, and ask questions about things that i see as important. I'm also an author, with three novels published ("The Old Man and The Monkey", "Grandfather and The Raven", and "Bear: a story about a boy and his unusual dog"). For more information about my writing, drop by my website, at www.geogepolleyauthor.com.
This entry was posted in George Polley, poem, Poetry, short poems and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Short poems

  1. robert okaji says:

    Ah, mikan! First time I’ve ever seen the word in print. Grew up with it, but only aurally. 🙂

Leave a Reply

